Skip to content

Don't offer new disks for Time Machine backup ​

Prevent Time Machine from prompting to use newly connected storage as backup volumes.

  • Tested on macOS:
    • Catalina
  • Parameter type: bool

Set to false (default value) ​

When a new disk is connected, system prompts to ask if you want to use it as a backup volume.

bash
defaults write com.apple.TimeMachine "DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup" -bool "false"

Set to true ​

When a new disk is connected, system does not prompt to ask if you want to use it as a backup volume.

bash
defaults write com.apple.TimeMachine "DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup" -bool "true"

Read current value ​

bash
defaults read com.apple.TimeMachine "DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup"

Reset to default value ​

bash
defaults delete com.apple.TimeMachine "DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup"